Another day, and yet another discussion on whether or not NHL disciplinarian Brendan Shanahan will lay down the law against Caps forward Jason Chimera for charging Adam McQuaid — that resulted in a five-minute major and a game misconduct — in the Bruins’ 3-2 shootout loss Thursday night at the TD Garden. McQuaid missed the rest of the game with a cut above his eyebrow according to coach Claude Julien, but seemed to have escaped a serious injury and is listed as day-to-day.
Here’s a clip of the hit that occurred with six minutes left in the first period:
Julien afterwards admitted that the penalty was deserved but also thought McQuaid put himself in a somewhat vulnerable position and that the act was unintentional.
“He came off the bench and he was going hard — and maybe he was a little reckless — but there’s no doubt in my mind that it wasn’t intentional,” he said. “McQuaid turned himself in the last minute and, you know, put himself in a vulnerable position, but still, I agree with the referee’s call. It was a bit of a reckless hit and it deserved a five when you look at the replay, and they had to make that decision.
You heard from Claude, now we want to hear from you. Should Chimera be suspended for his actions on McQuaid?