Type to search

  • Chara named finalists for Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award


    Chara named finalists for Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award

    Joe Makarski June 6, 2011

    BOSTON — Bruins captain Zdeno Chara was named one of three finalists for the  2010-11 Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award presented by Bridgestone, the National Hockey League announced today.

    The award recognizes an individual as a superior leader in hockey and as a contributing member of society. It honors an individual who leads by positive example through on-ice performance, motivation of team members and a dedication to community activities and charitable causes.

    NHL Press Release:

    Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins Since being named the 18th captain in franchise history to begin the 2006-07 season, Chara has led the Bruins’ steady climb back to the NHL’s elite level and two Northeast Division crowns in the last three years. Despite being among the League’s top 10 in ice time in each of his five seasons as Bruins captain, he has missed a total of only 12 games. A Norris Trophy finalist for the fourth time this season, he won the award in 2008-09. A long-time supporter and contributor to Right to Play, the international program that uses sport to improve the lives of children from disadvantaged areas; Chara this past season also took over the Bruins’ PJ Drive, which collects unused pajamas for local children in need. And he helped bring in unprecedented contributions to the Boston Bruins Cuts for a
    Cause – including the $1,500 a local restaurant owner bid to shave Chara’s head.

    Shane Doan of the Phoenix Coyotes and Nicklas Lidstrom of the Detroit Red Wings are the other two finalists.

    The winner will be announced Wednesday, June 22, during the 2011 NHL Awards™ that will be broadcast live from the Pearl Concert Theater inside the Palms Hotel Las Vegas on VERSUS in the United States and on CBC in Canada (7 p.m. ET).

    Previous winners of the Mark Messier Leadership Award Presented By Bridgestone:

    2006-07 – Chris Chelios, Detroit Red Wings
    2007-08 – Mats Sundin, Toronto Maple Leafs
    2009-08 – Jarome Iginla, Calgary Flames
    2010-09 – Sidney Crosby, Pittsburgh Penguins

    Facebook Comments

    Leave a Comment