Type to search

  • Bruins Daily’s NHL Awards preview


    Bruins Daily’s NHL Awards preview

    Joe Makarski June 17, 2012
    Patrice Bergeron, Zdeno Chara, Bergeron and Chara, NHL Awards, Boston Bruins

    (Getty Images) Bruins forward Patrice Bergeron(Selke) and Captain Zdeno Chara(Norris) wil in Vegas next week as they are up for NHL Awards this year

    The National Hockey League is set to host its annual awards show next week in sunny Las Vegas where Bruins Daily’s own Anthony Travalgia will be out in Vegas covering all the action.

    With the awards show just days away now is a good time to preview the upcoming event, and predict who is taking home some of the NHL’s hardware.

    On the Bruins front we have Zdeno Chara who is nominated for the Norris Trophy and Patrice Bergeron who is nominated for the Selke.

    Hart Memorial Trophy: The Hart Memorial Trophy is an annual award given to the player judged to be the most valuable to his team.

    Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers: 39-18-5, 1.97 Goals Against Average, .930 Save Percentage

    Evgeni Malkin, Pittsburgh Penguins: 50 Goals, 59 Assists, 109 Points

    Steven Stamkos, Tampa Bay Lightning: 60 Goals 37 Assists, 97 Points

    Who I’d vote for: Steven Stamkos

    To me this comes down to Stamkos and Malkin. In my opinion these two guys are the best the National Hockey League has to offer. When it comes down to whom the MVP is I’d give the slight edge to Stamkos. Stamkos became only the 20th player in NHL history to light the lamp 60 times, and is the first to do so since Alexander Ovechkin scored 65 during the 2007-2008 season. One can argue that Malkin deserves it due to his big edge in assists, and I can live with that, but look at the talent that Malkin is surrounded with compared to the talent Stamkos is surrounded with.

    Who’s really going to win: Evgeni Malkin

    Vezina Trophy: The Vezina Trophy is an annual award given to the goalkeeper adjudged to be the best at this position

    Henrik Lundqvist, New York Rangers: 39-18-5, 1.97 Goals Against Average, .930 Save Percentage

    Jonathan Quick, L.A. Kings: 35-21-13, 1.95 Goals Against Average, .929 Save Percentage

    Pekka Rinne, Nashville Predators: 43-18-8, 2.39 Goals Against Average, .923 Save Percentage

    Who I’d vote for: Jonathan Quick

    From December till the end of February the Vezina was all Henrik Lundqvist, but then Jonathan Quick took the L.A. Kings on an amazing run that brought him into the Vezina race, and in my opinion won it for him. During March and April the Kings and four other teams out west were battling for three playoff spots, Quick made sure the Kings would get one of them. Quick went 10-5 in March and April including a personal five-game winning streak. I look at this way. Take Lundqvist off the Rangers and the Rangers still make the playoffs as a 7th, maybe 8th seed. Take Quick off the Kings, and the Kings are a lottery pick, simple enough.

    Who’s really going to win: Henrik Lundqvist

    James Norris Memorial Trophy: The James Norris Memorial Trophy is an annual award given to the defense player who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position.

    Zdeno Chara, Boston Bruins 12 Goals 40 Assists 52 Points, Plus-33

    Erik Karlsson, Ottawa Senators 19 Goals 59 Assists 78 Points, Plus-16

    Shea Weber, Nashville Predators 19 Goals 30 Assists 49 Points, Plus-21

    Who I’d vote for: Zdeno Chara

    Of all the awards to be given out on Wednesday, I think this one may be the closest race. All three guys can win the Norris and no one can argue the decision. Karlsson’s offensive numbers were just ridiculous this season, they were Bobby Orr like, yes I went there, but the Norris goes to the best all-around defensemen and sorry Erik, but defensively you’re not in the same boat as the other two guys. What Chara does on a game by game basis is amazing. Chara is out there nearly every shift against the other teams best offensive players, and Captain Zdeno does one heck of a job in doing so.

    Who’s really going to win: Erik Karlsson.

    Calder Memorial Trophy: The Calder Memorial Trophy is an annual award given to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League.

    Adam Henrique, New Jersey Devils 16 Goals, 35 Assists, 51 Points, Plus-8

    Gabriel Landeskog, Colorado Avalanche 22 Goals, 30 Assists, 52 Points, Plus-20

    Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Edmonton Oilers 18 Goals, 34 Assists, 52 Points, Minus-2

    Who I’d vote for: Ryan Nugent-Hopkins

    Like the Norris I think the Calder is another close race, but I’d have to go with the No. 1 overall pick in the past years NHL draft. Nugent-Hopkins burst onto the scene in a big way this season for a young Edmonton Oilers team. Due to a shoulder injury Nugent Hopkins missed some time as he finished the season with just 62 games played. Nugent-Hopkins finished the season tied with Gabriel Landeskog for the lead in rookie points. It’s clear that “Nudge” would of ran away with both the rookie scoring title, and the Calder if he didn’t miss some time due to his injury.

    Who’s really going to win: Ryan Nugent-Hopkins

    Frank J. Selke Trophy: The Frank J. Selke Trophy is an annual award given to the forward who best excels in the defensive aspects of the game.

    David Backes, St. Louis Blues 24 Goals, 30 Assists 54 Points, Plus-15

    Patrice Bergeron, Boston Bruins 22 Goals, 42 Assists, 64 Points, Plus-36

    Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit Red Wings 19 Goals, 48 Assists, 67 Points, Plus-21

    Who I’d vote for: Patrice Bergeron

    This award was basically made for Pavel Datsyuk as the Red Wing has won the Selke award three out of the last four seasons, but just like last season I think he’s going to be edged out once again. For the first time in his career Bruins forward Patrice Bergeron got a Selke award nomination, something he much deserved. Bergeron’s two-way game is something that goes very unnoticed outside of New England. Bergeron’s play in the defensive zone is fun to watch and a very big reason as to why the Bruins are so successful night in and night out.

    Who’s really going to win: Patrice Bergeron

    Jack Adams Award:

    The Jack Adams Award is an annual award presented by the National Hockey League Broadcaster’s Association to the NHL coach judged to have contributed the most to his team’s success.

    Ken Hitchcock, St. Louis Blues 49-22-11, 109 Points

    Paul Maclean, Ottawa Senators 41-31-10, 92 Points

    John Tortorella, New York Rangers, 109 Points

    Who I’d vote for: Ken Hitchcock

    Ken Hitchcock took over the St. Louis Blues on November 6, 2011 after the Blues struggled out of the gate. The Blues were 13th in the West after 13 games as they had a 6-7 record and just 12 points. Hitchcock took over and took the Blues in a complete different direction. Under Hitchcock the Blues went 43-15-11 and finished the season as the number two seed in the west, just two points shy of the President Trophy winning Vancouver Canucks.

    Who’s really going to win: Ken Hitchcock

    Facebook Comments


    Leave a Comment