Type to search

  • Bruins Daily’s Greatest Bruin of All Time bracket reveal

    Tim Rosenthal March 30, 2020

    The COVID-19 pandemic forced, well, everything at a standstill. Every public assembly remains delayed with the social distance guidelines in place for the foreseeable future.

    The Bruins’ quest for another Stanley Cup remains on hold until the league resumes its day to day business operations — both on and off the ice.

    With that in mind, we here at Bruins Daily wanted to start a tournament of sorts in lieu of the current delay. Thus, here we are creating the Greatest Bruin of All-Time tournament.

    We’ve assembled a March Madness-like 64-player tournament — dividing the brackets of defensemen, centers, wingers and goaltenders — featuring several of your favorite former and current Bruins. We’ll post the fan-vote matchups on Twitter (@BruinsDaily) beginning on Tuesday with the first round of the defensemen bracket.

    Now that you know the details, it’s time to reveal the full Greatest Bruin of All Time bracket.

    Defensemen (First round matchups begin Tuesday)

    1. Bobby Orr
    2. Ray Bourque
    3. Zdeno Chara
    4. Eddie Shore
    5. Brad Park
    6. Lionel Hitchman
    7. Don Sweeney
    8. Art Ross
    9. Ted Greene
    10. Torey Krug
    11. Mike Milbury
    12. Mike O’Connell
    13. Fernie Flaman
    14. Dennis Seidenberg
    15. Johnny Boychuk
    16. Andrew Ference

    Wingers (First round matchups begin Wednesday)

    1. Johnny Bucyk
    2. Cam Neely
    3. Brad Marchand
    4. Rick Middleton
    5. Ken Hodge
    6. Dit Clapper
    7. David Pastrnak
    8. Wayne Cashman
    9. Terry O’Reilly
    10. Don Marcotte
    11. Woody Dumart
    12. Johnny McKenzie
    13. Milan Lucic
    14. Ed Westfall
    15. Sergei Samsonov
    16. Keith Crowder

    Goalies (First round matchups begin Thursday)

    1. Gerry Cheevers
    2. Tiny Thompson
    3. Tim Thomas
    4. Tuukka Rask
    5. Frank Brimsek
    6. Eddie Johnston
    7. Reggie Lemelin
    8. Giles Gilbert
    9. Byron Dafoe
    10. Andy Moog
    11. Jim Henry
    12. Jaroslav Halak
    13. Pete Peeters
    14. Andrew Raycroft
    15. Anton Khudobin
    16. Doug Keans

    Centers (First round matchups begin Friday)

    1. Phil Esposito
    2. Patrice Bergeron
    3. Milt Schmidt
    4. Jean Ratelle
    5. Joe Thornton
    6. David Krejci
    7. Bill Cowley
    8. Adam Oates
    9. Peter McNab
    10. Derek Sanderson
    11. Barry Pederson
    12. Marc Savard
    13. Fred Stanfield
    14. Cooney Weiland
    15. Ken Linseman
    16. Charlie Coyle

    Facebook Comments
    Tim Rosenthal

    Tim Rosenthal serves as the Managing Editor of Bruins Daily. He started contributing videos to the site in 2010 before fully coming on board during the Bruins' Stanley Cup run in 2011. His bylines over the last decade have been featured on Boston.com, FoxSports.com, College Hockey News, Patch and Inside Hockey. You can follow Tim on Twitter @_TimRosenthal.


    You Might also Like

    Leave a Comment